X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

zfs issues

Hi All,

My first post. Wish it was for something more pleasant. I'm relatively new to kubuntu, but I've been using Linux and KDE since the RH5 days. I built a new system earlier this year and took a different path than what I've typically done in the past. I've always used a hardware RAID for my bulk storage, but I read about the advantages of using a software RAID like zfs, so I decided to give that a try. I installed kubuntu 19.10, setup a zfs RAID, and off I went.
    Things worked perfectly for a while, but then a few weeks back a batch of routine updates seemed to throw everything sideways. My RAID was no longer there. I tried a few things, got it working (so I thought), and life was good again, until the next reboot. RAID was gone again. Couldn't get it back. I saw the 20.04 release and decided to try that in hopes that it would fix things. Even though the install was fast and uneventful, it didn't help my RAID.

I've poked around the interwebs looking for a solution, but nothing seems to fit my problem (or maybe I'm so new to zfs that I don't know how to connect the dots). Here are some of the things I've tried and the results.
    Code:
    [FONT=monospace]zpool status -x
    no pools available[/FONT]
    Code:
    [FONT=monospace]zpool list
    no pools available[/FONT]
    Code:
    [FONT=monospace]sudo zpool import -D
    no pools available to import[/FONT]
    Code:
    [FONT=monospace]sudo zpool create raid raidz2 /dev/sda /dev/sdc /dev/sdd /dev/sdf /dev/sdg
    invalid vdev specification
    use '-f' to override the following errors:
    /dev/sda1 is part of exported pool 'raid'
    /dev/sdc1 is part of exported pool 'raid'
    /dev/sdd1 is part of exported pool 'raid'
    /dev/sdf1 is part of exported pool 'raid'
    /dev/sdg1 is part of exported pool 'raid'[/FONT]