Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone else try out BlueMail? Other Email clients?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone else try out BlueMail? Other Email clients?

I've been using Mailspring (formally Nylas Mail) for 3-4 years but they never seem to want to fix the few annoying bugs:
    • Mail being stuck in Drafts instead of sending even after clicking "Send"
    • Read mail being left in the Unread folder even though marked as Read
    • The annoying way replies are displayed - if there's many, they aren't in chronological order.
    I, once again (it seems to be a bi-annual event), I went looking for alternatives and found "BlueMail". The Ubuntu default is a snap (of course) but there's a downloadable deb on their website, so I installed that.

2 small hiccups right away:
    1. It installed fine but wouldn't launch. Launching it from the CLI revealed this error:
      Code:
      [2556:0921/090030.521407:FATAL:gpu_data_manager_impl_private.cc(415)] GPU process isn't usable. Goodbye.​
      A very brief web search and I found the solution: add "--no-sandbox" to the launch command. Once I did that it launched correctly.
    2. It wouldn't initially allow access to my gmail account. The authorization window in my browser opened as I would expect but after providing permissions, it just sat showing a spinner and so did Bluemail. The third time I tried, I entered my email address sans "gmail.com" clicked on a provided "gmail.com" button in the set-up account window. This worked immediately on loaded my emails. I also authorized calendar and contacts access (which Mailspring doesn't have). I then added my work gmail account as well.
    My initial impression is very favorable. It easily allows me to select either account separately or select a "Unified" view. The calendar view is interactive (I can create, edit, and delete events) an the unified view combines the two calendars very well. The contacts work as well as the calendar.