Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Latest btrfs experiment Nesting subvolume mounts NOT a good idea for personal files

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Latest btrfs experiment Nesting subvolume mounts NOT a good idea for personal files

If you just want to know about my experiment that failed, jump to the last paragraph to skip the history and reasons:
    For those who aren't familiar, btrfs is a new file system available to linux users that I have been using for 5 or 6 years now - from back when it was experimental and the tools version was 0.19 (it's now 4.4). I use it full time on all my machines with few exceptions and I hardily recommend it for many reasons as I have in many posts, one of those is the use of subvolumes. Subvolumes act like partitions but they exist on a single file system. In this way they can be mounted individually but they all share the available space in the host file system. If you do an install to a btrfs file system, the Ubuntu default is to install / and /home to separate subvolumes much in the way you might use a separate /home partition.

I'm a multi-booter and have been playing around for various ways to effectively host my personal data files (Docs, Music, etc.) in a shared location while keeping /home unique to each install. This makes sense to me because I want to be able to access my files regardless of which distro I've booted to with the least amount of fuss. I've tried bind mounts and symlinks which all work just fine but you have to do a lot of symlinking or bind mount creation for each install. I wanted a cleaner approach. My personal belief is mixing settings and other various details between distros is a bad idea because you never know what version of what program is going to change a setting and muck up some other installation of the same program on another install.