This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Distro?

Is it possible to do a quick run-down of the differences between openSUSE, Mandriva and Kubuntu?

I'm not new to Linux - I've been developing in it for 5 years now. I started with Fedora, then went to RHEL (which I hated) and we had a server with CentOS (which I hated equally). I currently use Fedora at work (mostly, we have CentOS and some other distros kicking around).

I have recently decided to migrate Linux to home use.

From what I can tell there isn't much difference between these three distros when considering casual use. I'll probably be doing a bit of C++ development - nothing fancy just working on my craft.

I've looked at screenshots of all 3 distros and I don't think that does any justice to my problem. Functionally are there any huge differences?

How do you get new software? (i.e. Fedora uses yum, Kubuntu uses apt-get, etc.)
    Are there packages that aren't generally available for any of these distros?

Any personal preferences? Why do you have these preferences?

Thanks for helping me out.

Re: Which Distro?

The *buntus are built from/on Debian Linux. Debian is where the apt package management system originated, and it still seems to me to be the superior package management method (but I confess to only playing with Fedora and Arch for a little while). So, I'm sold on Debian, and Kubuntu is a derivative of it. My other Linux OS is aptosid, which is Debian Sid (newest version that's pretty stable).

Two cents worth.

Comment

I've played with kubuntu a bit and can't seem to see much difference between apt-get and yum - except for the GUI version available with kubuntu.

Would you generally get a similar number of available packages with both?

Comment

Overall there aren't too many HUGE differences between them on the surface, which is why you may want to try them all