This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Errors] Help with compiling ffmpeg using Kubuntu

I?ve installed Kubuntu so that I can run FFmpeg to join a large number of tiff files into a video. The tiffs are produced by a video enhance program that exports each frame of the video as a tiff.

I?ve installed FFmpeg from the console. I?m following the instructions found here:
    Using FFmpeg with NVIDIA GPU Hardware Acceleration :: NVIDIA Video Codec SDK Documentation

The instructions are failing at this line:
    cd nv-codec-headers && sudo make install && cd ?
    with an error ?no such directory cd ? ?

I think that this could be due to my not starting in the correct directory, and therefore the command hasn?t got a directory to ?go back to?. I am very new to this and I could be completely wrong! I do know that I am in ?nv-codec-headers? directory after the command has run, which matches the ?cd? at the start of the line.

If I carry on the command
    ?./configure --enable-nonfree -?enable-cuda-sdk ?enable-libnpp --extra-cflags=-I/usr/local/cuda/include --extra-ldflags=-L/usr/local/cuda/lib64?
    also fails, but I don?t know whether this is due to the above failing. It?s the ./configure part that is causing the problem.

Can anyone help with this, please?

It's cd -
    Meaning "previous directory".

Comment

Curious at to why compiling from scratch? Just to get the nvidia acceleration?

Please Read Me

Comment

Exactly how the configure fails is the key here. You should be running it in the directory where it is; that's what ./ means.

If ./configure is the first step, usually the problem is some missing library or tool.

If you are building a version of something that is in the repositories, the command
        Code:
        sudo apt-get build-dep [i]whatever[/i]
        (change whatever to ffmpeg in your case I think)
        can work magic sometimes.

Sent from my VFD 822 using Tapatalk
        Regards, John Little

Comment