This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Errors] Help I have no option to select a wired internet connection

I'm new to Linux and Kubuntu and I can't find the answer anywhere. I only have my computers wifi as an option. There's no way for me to connect to the internet with my wired ethernet cord plugged into my pc. Thanks for the help.

What happens when you do plug it in?

Assuming you are connecting to a router, correct?

What shows up in the networking section on your system tray? Normally it will automatically connect to a network, if there are no special settings required.

We'll probably need to find what networking card your system has. It may be that you may need a driver or tweak to get the card working. Most Just Work out of the box but not all.

If you open up Konsole and type in 'lspci'
    It will give you a list of various device info. Just copy and paste that text into a reply here and we can take a look.

Sent from my LM-V600 using Tapatalk

Comment

OK, I get you're new to Linux and this forum - so welcome to both.

However, you have asked us to guess what computer you are using, what ethernet NIC you have (brand, model, etc.), and what you've tried so far to fix it.

Generally, Linux is a community effort and thus the expectation is you are going to put in some work solving your problems yourself before asking others, and when you do you will at least try to provide as much detailed information as needed so that we don't have to drag the information out of you.

I suggest you review the "READ ME" link in my signature below and post back with some info that might actually lead to getting some help. I look forward to possibly helping resolve this isses when the information is available.

Please Read Me

Comment

Originally posted by claydoh View Post
        What happens when you do plug it in?

Assuming you are connecting to a router, correct?