This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much disk space needs Kubuntu 16 04

I am new to computing and have set up a new PC with a relatively small ssd of 125Gb.
    I noticed that less than 100Gb were left after the installation of Kubuntu 16.04 and some programs i am using.
    It is mainly Quantum GIS.

How much disk space takes Kubuntu?
    Is there a way, preferably a GUI, that shows which program including the operation system takes how much of disk space.

Much thanks in advance,
    Kairo

In general, Kubuntu will need 8-12GB for a full install.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-...tern-in-linux/

Please Read Me

Comment

I checked again using filelight and only 95Gb of my hard disk space are available after the install. leaving 30 Gb gone. Filelight does not seem to visualize how much disk space the OS and programs take. Is there a way to check this?

Comment

My favorite tool for checking where my disk space went is ncdu. It has to be run from a terminal but it's fast, light and easy to understand.
        we see things not as they are, but as we are.
        -- anais nin

Comment

There's no way any linux install takes 30GB by itself. You've got more on there than that. I have KDEneon with OpenOffice and Google Earth and quite a few other things and my install is 13.6GB.

Please Read Me

Comment

Originally posted by wizard10000 View Post
            My favorite tool for checking where my disk space went is ncdu. It has to be run from a terminal but it's fast, light and easy to understand.
            Awesome Wiz! Adding this one to my toolbox. Adding the -x option prevents it from scanning the non-local file systems and --exclude /home skipped the /home directory. Quicker than plain old du and better output. Thanks!

Please Read Me

Comment

It was the swap size 16Gb that were automatically assigned.

Comment

Originally posted by oshunluvr View Post