This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommended graphics card?

I'm not new to Kubuntu, but still a complete newb. I am researching components for a new build for Wily. My last build was Jaunty, and I loved it. I had a dual monitor setup with EVGA GTX8800 gpc.

I'm wondering if there are recommendations or preferred graphics cards that work better with KDE. I'm not interested in making this into a gaming system. This is strictly a working computer.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Honestly, outside of gaming, Intel / AMD / NVidia all work well for daily-use computers with Kubuntu. I have a laptop with Intel onboard graphics that works great, and older computer (8 yrs?) with an old 2 Ghz dual core Intel CPU paired with an NVidia GS6400 graphics card that is also used to send 1080p video to an HDTV (I picked up the card on Newegg a few yrs ago for around $25.00), and a new beast of an office computer (AMD 8750 8-core @ 4 Ghz) paired with an AMD Radeon 360 video card. For your use case, you likely don't even need the proprietary drivers for what you would be using the compy for (non-gaming tasks).

Opinion: For my money if I was building any type of general use computer, I would go AMD all the way and likely get an APU from them that handles the graphics onboard of the CPU (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Ac...rocessing_Unit), as clearly there is no rival in terms of relative "bang-for-the-buck. Something like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113395 would have your whole CPU / GPU locked up for around $100.00. Again, this is just an opinion feel free to discard
    Last edited by dequire; Apr 05, 2016, 11:20 PM.
    ​"Keep it between the ditches"
    K*Digest Blog
    K*Digest on Twitter

Comment

These days on-board graphics is enough for Kubuntu with multiple monitors. Just make sure the mobo has the ports you want; I have a new i7 that has one of each of DVI, VGA and HDMI, but no display ports.

Regards, John Little