This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to install software and update without internet connection

I'm new with Linux and I need your help. How can I install software without internet connection like in windows? I don't have internet connection at all. Please help me

That will be problematic "at best", as in Linux, "software" (application packages) have dependencies; reliances on other packages that may or may not already be present/installed. If these dependent packages are not already present/installed, then attempting to install the application obtained from another source and downloaded to a CD/DVD/USB drive will fail.

Can you take your PC to a friend or associate who does have Internet access?
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Snappy ?

What is Ubuntu Snappy?: http://thelinuxrain.com/articles/what-is-ubuntu-snappy
      A Snappy application is basically a single compressed archive package with all the files contained within for the app to run. Yes, all the files, including the required library files. In other words, a single Snappy application contains all its dependencies within,...
      Try Me !

Comment

I can download needed file from my friend pc but I don't know how to install them cause it is very different from windows executeable

Comment

While I agree with Snowhog, we should answer your question. Using a computer that can reach the internet, you can research and discover which packages you need, and download the necessary .deb files for your release, transfer them somehow to the target, then install from them. Some unfree software is supplied that way, f.ex. Google Chrome.