L2 cache: 4096K
    NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0,1

GPU
    Sapphire Radeon HD 5450 1 GB DDR3 HDMI/DVI-I/VGA PCI-Express Graphics Card
    RAM 3 GB

1 hard drive 80gb
    1 external hard dive 1 TB
    1 dvd burner

I am pretty new to using Linux so I really don't have the right terms to use please forgive me
    when accessing my external drive the folders are slow to load video's buffer for about every 10 seconds when played
    to the point that it's noticeable and annoying when I hover over a folder or anything in the external drive I get a spinning icon
    as if it's taking time to find the media, is there something I can do to change this behavior?

Thanks

You didn't give any info about the external hard drive that I can see. Like; how is it connected, how is it mounted, what filesystem is on it, etc.

Please Read Me

Comment

Originally posted by oshunluvr View Post
      You didn't give any info about the external hard drive that I can see. Like; how is it connected, how is it mounted, what filesystem is on it, etc.
      I have it set to mount automatically in the system setting its connected via usb not sure how to tell what file system though I'm assuming it's NTFS but I may be wrong though is there a way to find this in the terminal?

Comment

Yes. Type this:

sudo blkid -c /dev/null -o list

Please Read Me

Comment

Yes. Type this:

sudo blkid -c /dev/null -o list
          Ok it says NTFS but it says it not mounted how is the proper way to mount?

Comment

The "proper" way depends on how you're going to use it. If you want to be able to unplug it and take it with you, you'll want to use the device notifier or automount. The usual location for mounting removable media is /media/<your username>/<device label>.

I always recommend use a filesystem label because it helps keep your devices straight in your head.

However, your issue is speed so lets do a test. I'm going to assume your drive is sdb. Do this in a terminal:

sudo hdparm -tT /dev/sdb