Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interrupted installation - Filesystem lost?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interrupted installation - Filesystem lost?

Hello

I messed it up. Big time.
    I was upgrading from 12.04 to 14.04, using Muon Upgrade Manager. I left it installing all day and when I came back from work it was still installing and showing a console window with a message saying something about stopping kdm and that the installation would be resumed after restarting it. Then It asked if it should stop kdm, I said "Y"... then it went to text console with some messages showing the status of some jobs (timidity, etc). And nothing else happened.
    I opened a new console and tried several things, but since I am a NOOB I couldn't think of anything other than rebooting. Now after reboot all I get is: "Filesystem check or mount failed. A maintenance shell will now be started. CONTROL-D will terminate this shell and continue booting after re-trying filesystem. Any further errors will be ignored".
    And that's all I get.
    Please keep in mind that I have a Dual Boot with windows 7 so I could go to windows using GRUB and now I'm writing from windows.
    My question: if I can't recover my Kubuntu, would it be possible to at least recover my files? My last backup was a month ago....
    Please let me know your comments.
    Eric.
    My music!

Originally posted by eamner View Post
    Hello
    My question: if I can't recover my Kubuntu, would it be possible to at least recover my files? My last backup was a month ago....
    Please let me know your comments.