X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to create a recovery partition?

Hi all,

I have been using linux (Kubuntu x64 to be exact) for a few months and I use an bootable Clonezilla USB drive to make and recover images of the system, and works great.

Now I want to make in the hard drive a recovery partition that will allow me to press a key or something similar when booting the computer and then go to a recovery option with what I can restore the computer to the default state.

I need all to be in the internal hard drive, not on a USB drive, and I need the recovery process to be easy to use (I don't wan't to have to select partitions or other options).

Mainly, I understand that making this can be a bit difficult, but I don't mind, the question is that the result, i mean, the recovery option must be simple and easy to use.

Anyone knows how could I do this?

Many thanks in advance

As usual there are many ways to do this. Why don't you start by outlining the steps you want to take in order to create the backup, how often to update it, and how you expect to access it?

Off the top of my head some ways to do this: btrfs snapshotting, RAID1, identical partitions using dd, rsync or rdiff-backup to a partition, etc...

Please Read Me

Comment

Originally posted by oshunluvr View Post
      As usual there are many ways to do this. Why don't you start by outlining the steps you want to take in order to create the backup, how often to update it, and how you expect to access it?

Off the top of my head some ways to do this: btrfs snapshotting, RAID1, identical partitions using dd, rsync or rdiff-backup to a partition, etc...
      Thank you for your answer, oshunluvr.

What I want to do is basically the same that branded laptops have, a method to restore the computer to the initial state. So I will never have to update this "recovery system" in the same computer.