This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[solved] Access to folder usr/share/wallpaper

I am new to Kubuntu (used Windows before) so please excuse if my question appears stupid...

I use Kubuntu 10.04.

Here's my little question:
    I wanted to add some personal wallpapers, and thought it was the best to place these in the same folder (usr/share/wallpapers) as the default wallpaper.

Surprise, surprise:
    I seem not to have access to that folder (create new folder etc are greyed out, impossible to copy or move anything here).
    I "solved" the problem by putting my wallpapers into a new folder in my "home" folder. That one of course worked -
    but why cant't I access the usr/share folder?
    How do I do that?
    Thank you in advance.

Toshiba Satellite L500D-11D, AMD Turion X2, ATI Technologies Inc M92 (Radeon mobility HD4500 series), Kubuntu 10.04,

Re: Access to folder usr/share/wallpaper

Everything - files and directories - outside of your users /home directory is owned by 'root.' But you, as the first user on your system (you were the one who installed Kubuntu) can operate as root when required. The way *buntu does this is with the command sudo and kdesudo. When working from the command line (console) on files, you preface the command with sudo if the action will be on/in/to a root owned item/location.

Let's say that you have your wallpaper files in your Wallpapers folder in your users /home directory. Open a console (K Menu > System > Konsole). You will be in your home directory. Typepwd (print working directory) and you will see this. Now, change directory (cd) in to your Wallpaper folder: cd Wallpapers

Now, let's say you have a wallpaper file called Kooldesktop.jpg that you want to copy (cp) to /user/share/wallpapers. Just type:
    Code:
    sudo cp Kooldesktop.jpg /usr/share/wallpapers/Kooldesktop.jpg
    Type your password when prompted. The file will be copied from your Wallpapers folder to /usr/share/wallpapers.