X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Linux !

Hi!.
    I just came across a blog.. it was some review of Mandriva .. and the guy says that"Due to the strength of Linux, a typical Mandriva Linux system can run for months without a reboot.".. what does this mean.. what in linux makes this possible.. hope my question is clear...(and yes as you rightly guessed I am a newbie).. well I have never tried running windows for months without a reboot ...

Re: Linux !

"Strength" is kind of an odd term for an operating system .... :P

A stable Linux system, on a solid hardware platform, will indeed run for about as long as the hardware holds together, if that's what you need to do. Which is a good thing for a server.

However, for desktop and laptop systems, you'll waste a lot of electricity letting it run when no one is using it for many hours per day. Plus, there is such a thing as a security update, which oftern involves a new kernel, and requires rebooting to take effect.

Comment

I think it could be also related to well known behaviour of the most popular operating systems, which are going to be slower and slower in time, especially when you play around with installing/uninstalling/reconfiguring a lot of software. And also they are going to be less stable when you install a lot of software. To say nothing about viruses/worms/malware which is marginal problem in linux.

Comment

I had posted the same topic on the Ubuntu forum as well.. please have a look!

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1458532

Comment

An historical side note: