X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multiple Questions

Hi Everybody,

I am very pleased that this forum exists and I would appreciate it if anybody could answer a few questions for a total newbie to Kubuntu.

I have a second laptop on which I have Windows XP. I want to put Kubuntu on that.

I am fully conversant with Windows OSs.

I intend to download the Kubuntu OS to a CD and install on this latop.

1. Can I overwrite the current Windows XP OS by booting to the CD?

2. If I want to try the Kubuntu OS first before getting rid of Windows, can I have both on the same hard drive? If so, how do I do this?

3. I intend to operate the laptop wirelessly to connect to the Internet. I have a Netgear wireless card (WN511B). Can I use this card with Kubuntu? I have had endless problems on Windows with this card. I think the drivers are at fault.

Regards,

Brian

Re: Multiple Questions

First of all welcome to the forum and to Kubuntu.

1. Can I overwrite the current Windows XP OS by booting to the CD?
    Booting the CD doesn't effect your hard drive - but the installer will allow you to re-format your hard drive during install. Since Kubuntu is available on a LiveCD, you can boot the CD and run the OS from the CD for testing.

2. If I want to try the Kubuntu OS first before getting rid of Windows, can I have both on the same hard drive? If so, how do I do this?
    Yes - this is called "Dual Booting" and there are hundreds of post and web pages on how to do it. Basically, you must make room for linux by re-sizing your windows partition, install the bootloader known as GRUB, and install Kubuntu to the free space.

You can try Kubuntu ftom the LiveCD without installing if you wish. However, in this mode your settings will not be saved and it will run much slower than if it's installed. It's a good way to test out your hardware