X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Standard Games?

Hello,

I'm pretty new to the linux based operating systems, and I was wondering if I could be able to install games such as :

Solitaire, etc..

Thank you in advance

Re: Standard Games?

Yup. What version of Kubuntu are you running?
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

I'm running the latest version that is downloadable on www.kubuntu.com

Comment

"The latest" would be Lucid Lynx - Kubuntu 10.04. The package manager it comes with - kpackagekit - isn't the best. You would be well served to install Synaptic instead. It is a much better package manager. So begin by opening a console. Just press Alt+F2 and type konsole. When the console window opens, type:
        Code:
        sudo apt-get update
        sudo apt-get install synaptic
        After synaptic is installed, close the console by typing exit. You'll find Synaptic in the K Menu under System. Or, you can launch it, again, by pressing Alt+F2 and typing synaptic. Enter your user password when prompted. Once Synaptic is loaded, type a search term in the Quick search window. You can limit the search to categories, and in this case, to Games, by scrolling in the Sections window and clicking on Games and Amusment (or subsequently, Games and Amusment (multiverse) or Games and Amusment (universe)). Just click on a displayed package in the other window to see the description below. If it is something you think you want, click in the small box to the left of the package name and select Mark for Installation and click on Apply to install it.

All games get installed in the K Menu under Applications > Games.

Comment

kpat is a package you likely want to install.

kpat
          KPatience is a collection of fourteen solitaire card games, including Klondike,
          Spider, and FreeCell.

Comment

Ok,

well I did those commands and got this :