This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Bash path string - question

Pardon me, but it has been many years since I was a unix System V administrator and things have changed so much. I was following the instructions for adding the very latest static build of FFmpeg on my system...
    https://www.johnvansickle.com/ffmpeg/faq/
    and one of the steps requires you to move the latest FFmpeg executable to a location in the path string that is ahead or earlier in the string so that the newer version is invoked rather than the older version currently installed. This procedure is offered for those who want the very latest filters. On to my question:

My path string is: $ echo $PATH
    /home/buddy/bin:/home/buddy/.local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bi
    n:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin

The problem is: The first two entries in the path string didn't even exist! How can a path string exist for non-existent directories? Shouldn't the system report an error?

-=Ken=-
    -=Ken=-
    "A man has to know his limitations." Harry Callihan (Dirty Harry)
    DIY ASRock AB350, AMD Ryzen 3 1200, 16 GB RAM, nvidia GT-710, kubuntu 20.04

That is just the order of precedence. it just ignores paths that do not exist. For example, the first two are in your $HOME, which normally don't have executables unless the user puts some there.

You can use one of those if you want, but /usr/local/bin might be easier to manage, perhaps? That would put it ahead of the stock ffmpeg, and still be accessible system-wide.

Code:
    whereis ffmpeg
    ffmpeg: [B]/usr/bin/ffmpeg[/B] /usr/share/ffmpeg /usr/share/man/man1/ffmpeg.1.gz

Also, if it helps any:
    https://snapcraft.io/ffmpeg

Comment

With $PATH, I see
      Code:
      bash: /home/chimak111/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin: No such file or directory
      This is on KDE neon 5.14.