Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what's equivalent to microsoft visual studio in open/free source?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what's equivalent to microsoft visual studio in open/free source?

Hi,
    i am quite new to linux.
    i had worked in microsoft visual studio for creating small windows program as well as few web pages.
    i am bit comfortable in c#

i was wondering if there is any good development software available.. which i can download for free.
    i would first want to convert window based programs (which i developed) to linux based..
    asus A52N
    Dual boot: Kubuntu 11.10 64bit, Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
    AMD Athlon II 64 X2 | 4 GB DDR3 RAM | ATI Radeon HD 4200
    windoze free since 2009 12 16 (Vijay din= Victory day)

Re: what's equivalent to microsoft visual studio in open/free source?

It is not up to date, but you can find something here.

Good luck.

Comment

learn how to use QT creator....... QT4 is very nice, and cross platform
      Mark Your Solved Issues [SOLVED]
      (top of thread: thread tools)

Comment

i see i have to learn a new language anyways..
        i wondering if i should start using java... or with qt?
        Q.1. which one is easy to use.. and has good forum support
        Q.2. i can use netBean or eclipse for java.. what about qt.. which IDE is easy for using qt?
        asus A52N

Comment

QT creator handles the entire process of creating programs for you. as a former VB programmer i found it a very easy switch (other then getting used to different API's )

i don't code in java so i can't help you there..

Comment

sounds good..
            but the search on QT showed that it is a proprietary software
            they how can we use it freely?
            asus A52N

Comment

qt is offered under several different licenses.
              http://qt.nokia.com/products/licensing
              FKA: tanderson

Comment

Originally posted by kapil