This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with scanning a file for a string

I am looking to scan a file for particular strings to add to a command to be executed.

The string will always be after a certain group of characters and between : and ).

The string to be used in the command shows up multiple times in the file.

I'm new to scripting.

for instance:

a;sdlkfjas;dlfksdj (fsfd: 1111111)
    asdasf
    ewrwea
    qawerws
    aswerwea (asf: 594830)

I want 1111111 and 594830 to be added to the command. I'm sorry for not using correct terminology but I have forgotten many of the terms that I learned in Computer Science.

just an example: sudo gedit 11111111

I can't remember if you call them arguments but they are variables inside the function.

Thanks

Re: Help with scanning a file for a string

not at my PC right now, but I wonder if you could use
    Code:
    | grep ":*)"
    ... I would have to look it up, but I know that you can read the file, and use grep to look for specific items in the file, and grep does support wildcards...

I assume you are going to put this in a script.

mm0
    Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

I'm on a little bit of brain overload, but read this on grep.
      Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

awk usually excels in these kind of tasks, but depending on the details you may get away with grep (and cut)

EDIT:
        Here's a quick (and really ugly) grep method that should work provided that:
        1. the lines that your arguments are in end in '(*:*)' pattern (and other lines don't)
        2. there's only one colon ':' on those lines