This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

future of app development

IMHO. maybe I am just resisting change or don't see it, but I really don't see what all the fuss is about web apps. I get the idea of a central store of data accessible from anywhere and a no maintenance client, but should we throw away 30 years of software development to start over? I think if you could take a cross platform kit statically link to one executable for each platform and have the app stream its document info from an app server, you could have the best of both worlds. I see google earth as the model for the future. Opinions?
    FKA: tanderson

Re: future of app development

Won't happen.

Before I retired I was a systems analyst/programmer for a mid West state. The Law required that we maintain physical control of all data servers and restrict unauthorized access. This excludes the "cloud" thing.

I also worked with IRS data, and after THEY got caught looking at movie star's incomes, and posting about it, the resulting new regs required that when ever ANYONE walked by my cubical and could see the display, even though they couldn't read it, I had to record the date, time, and what was on the screen, and the name of the person walking by. My hallway was a high traffic area with up to 20 people passing by several times a day! This is inside a secured facility, patrolled by uniformed officers! Needless to say, the IRS file processing was moved to a locked office in an obscure part of the building where only the analyst had access and NO ONE could walk by there except him.