This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Has anyone used Gmusicbrowser?

I installed Xubuntu on an old laptop, and Gmusicbrowser is the default music player. I really like it.
    I was just wondering if anyone has installed it in Kubuntu. Since it's a gtk app is that going to cause problems?
    I'm very new to Kubuntu/KDE.
    "Sitting quietly, doing nothing,
    Spring comes, and the grass grows by itself."

Re: Has anyone used Gmusicbrowser?

It won't cause any problems. Installing it in Kubuntu 11.10 installs the following:
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
    gmusicbrowser libao-common libao4 libaudio-scrobbler-perl libcairo-perl
    libconfig-inifiles-perl libglib-perl libgstreamer-perl libgtk2-notify-perl
    libgtk2-perl libgtk2-trayicon-perl libnet-dbus-perl libpango-perl
    libtie-ixhash-perl libxml-parser-perl libxml-twig-perl libxml-xpath-perl
    mpg321
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Re: Has anyone used Gmusicbrowser?

Thanks!
      I'm using the new version of Juk right now and it works quite nicely. But I may try this out in Kubuntu.
      "Sitting quietly, doing nothing,
      Spring comes, and the grass grows by itself."

Comment

I have been using Gmusicbrowser for a little while now with kubuntu 12.10. i have encountered no problems with it so far. i especially like it for its versatility with its layouts. i also have about 20k tracks, so it really does help me keep them organized

Comment

I have Xubuntu 11.10 on an old mini tower pc and I use gmusicbrowser on that. I've never thought about installing it on my Kubuntu laptop because I don't like the idea of mixing gtk and qt apps. If I'm using a qt desktop I prefer to use qt apps and vice versa. But I know you can run gtk apps within qt desktops and qt apps within gtk desktops.

Comment