X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello to all of you :) new Kubuntu user here

Hi!

Well i am new to Kubuntu. Not new to Linux though...
    I have used Ubuntu since version 9.04 and have always been pleased.
    But now i wanted to try something new....and to me came Kubuntu 11.10.

And well....im quite pleased Like it alot....

I work as an IT engineer and i use all kind of MS operating system versions like
    Windows XP, 7, Vista, Server 2003, Server 2008, so well i work in an MS environment....But we have a few monitoring systems....that in fact run linux OPENNMS and Nagios, for example....

But there is a special love with Linux... Its like we were made for each other haha....
    At home i use only Linux and Kubuntu as distribution for now....it simply works...well a few problems
    have arised but have always been able to solve them with the kind linux forum people...

So well here i am.... may i embark?

Re: Hello to all of you new Kubuntu user here

welcome to KFN!
    have a pleasant stay
    asus A52N
    Dual boot: Kubuntu 11.10 64bit, Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
    AMD Athlon II 64 X2 | 4 GB DDR3 RAM | ATI Radeon HD 4200
    windoze free since 2009 12 16 (Vijay din= Victory day)

Comment

Originally posted by pcteknikern
      By all means! Welcome aboard!

Linux is a meritocracy.

My "special relationship" with Linux goes back to May of 1998, but I'm not jealous!

And, a lot of us here use Windows in some way or another. You learn what you have to learn and do what you have to do to put food in your children's mouths or explore the things that interest you.

I began my consulting/programing business in 1980 and retired in 2008. I used Windows for 23 of those 28 years, and I use WinXP as a guest OS in order to run iTunes and keep my iPod updated. The last 5 years of work was spent using Linux to write in-house apps using Qt4 that would run on Windows servers.