This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How I bacame a KDE fanboi

With Natty a day away from release, I thought I'd do my testimony as to how I've tried Kubuntu and become a die-hard KDE fanboi. I'll put forward my point of view regarding the differences between KDE and Gnome, some with the Windows Aero interface and why I think we're running the best desktop out there.

Intro

Some background. I'm relatively new to Linux this time arround, although the last batch is not my first encounter with using it. I was an openSUSE user some years ago, with KDE 3.something. I don't really remember much of it, except for the fact that there were few problems, because Yast was doing a good job, and I had a friend who helped me solve all the problems with sound and Flash. Other than that, I was really happy with the package management idea, and KDE was rocking. Circumstances dictated that i start using Windows for work, and since I don't beleive in dual booting at the time, I went with XP, which was allright, but terribly boring, and Vista, which was not all that easy to get to behave properly. Little less than a year ago, the work requirements were no longer there, so I could go back to Linux. I went with Ubuntu, don't ask me why, I wasn't really thinking about it.