This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Happy newbie here.

First of all sorry for my poor english.I came to use Kubuntu by luck 4 weeks ago.The computer of my daughter was not able to boot Windows so i decided to try Ubuntu on it just for fun.I was sure that after a couple of hours i would unstall it.After all Linux was all about command lines right and i HATED THE DAYS OF DOS.Man was i wrong..I first install Ubuntu,discover a whole new world of doing things and frankly speaking having a blast learning to work with Linux.Oh sure at first there was a lot of WTF,a lot of `ohhhhhhhhhh so that is how you...`a lot of `are they kidding me`.Im not doing anything meaningful mind you right now,just a lot of exploring.Gave a shot to Kubuntu which i prefer to Gnome.Wine is actually pretty good patching things where only Windows programs are fit to my needs.Im a chess addict and both Chessbase and Playwitharena plays as good as in Windows.To tell you the truth i just cant wait coming home from work and exploring and learning about KDE AND kUBUNTU.Right now i would not mind wearing a t-shirt with a huge Kubuntu logo on it...lol...I put Kubuntu on my computer also using Wubi for now...Anyway keep up the good work.You seem to have a nice community in here

Re: Happy newbie here.

Welcome to KFN and the world of Linux. Happy to hear that your foray into Linux via *buntu was a pleasant suprise.

You will find that KFN is a wonderful resource for Kubuntu. Plenty of people here, with varying degrees of experience and ability, but all with a desire to use and help others to use, Kubuntu.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Welcome!

Comment

ahmn, welcome here. Lots of friendly folks here. Regarding your English. You express yourself better than a lot of native English speakers. I like chess also. Thankfully you don't need Wine for that.