X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From windows 7 to kubuntu - need help with KDE Partition Manager

Hey guys,

I'm VERY PLEASED to announce I've finally ditched windows. I don't want to do any microsoft bashing but to say the least I was fed up (considering I'm a software developer and my dedicated server is linux, anyways).

I've successfully installed kubuntu on my HP AMD 64 bit laptop - without one hitch whatsoever! Impressive! Even the buttons on my laptop (for volume, sound, touchpad, etc) all work! I have no hardware issues and everything works great.

I know my way around a bit simply because of playing around with linux servers so I managed to install apache, mysql, php, and get them all working together. Very nice.

OK, to the point..

1) I used KDE Partition Manager to delete my windows 7 partition. Now I wish to allocate all of this free space to my linux partition. However, I'm unsure how to do so because the KDEPM help said a volume has to be unmounted to resize it, and I can't unmount the partition. What to do?

2) Once I am able to allocate the free space, do I want to allocate it to /dev/sda2 or /dev/sda5?

Here is a screenshot for all of you who are interested in helping

http://i47.tinypic.com/351acdx.jpg

Thanks!
    -Scott (happy to be here, and happy to finally be devoting all of my time to linux)

Re: From windows 7 to kubuntu - need help with KDE Partition Manager

Download a copy of this http://partedmagic.com/ to partition your drive.

I'm sure others will pipe in with suggestions but you should create at least one partition for your home directory and mount it as /home

Comment

redirected to poster's thread
      "Live long and prosper"

Comment

To be honest it might be quicker and easier to reinstall Kubuntu and tell the installer to use the entire hard drive since allocating 415GB to an existing partition is probably going to take hours...

In any case, to answer your questions: