Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[SOLVED] how to boot into a linux rootfs image file on an XP ntfs partition?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] how to boot into a linux rootfs image file on an XP ntfs partition?

Hi there,

I am since long running kubuntu on a XP-only company laptop from a usb HD (I cannot mess with the contents of the internal HD, like repartition etc.)

However, I find it inconvenient to have to plug in my external HD for every private (linux) use.

Some time ago I have tried to put a linux filesystem image on C:\ (ntfs) and boot into this one (with Grub installed on a USB-stick as the boot loader), but gave up because I kept getting errors like "kernel panic, no root fs found" and the like.

Main question: Is it at all possible to achieve this (linux root fs on ntfs partition)?

TIA

Re: how to boot into a linux rootfs image file on an XP ntfs partition? (possible?)

I'm no kernel developer, but I believe part of the booting process is a filesystem verification check by the kernel. Since NTFS is not a supported Linux filesystem type, it's gonna fail.

Comment

Re: how to boot into a linux rootfs image file on an XP ntfs partition? (possible?)

What you want is similar to wubi installtion but the problem is it will modify the vista bootloader.
      Wubi install creates a image of a virtual disk

Or you could install linux totally on you USB HDD but you will have to repartition it to make a new partition for linux.
      Or I suggest you install GRUB on USB and then perform ubuntu wubi install creating a virtual disk

Find me online on #kubuntu or #ubuntu
      maybe we will discuss this, I would like to do similar.

Comment

Don't know if this is any use?

http://www.pendrivelinux.com/

Comment

Ya check that site. http://www.pendrivelinux.com/
          It will be able to solve the problem
          I just forgot to mention it earlier

Comment

Thanks for your replies.