This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some Linux Questions

Hello, I'm new to Linux. I have been a computer nerd for a while now and have a high end home built windows desktop at home for gaming. However I have been intrigued by Linux for ages and I'm interested in trying it out.

The other day I purchased a new Dell Inspiron 1545 for college in the fall and I'm looking into maybe dual-booting Linux and Windows on it. I do have a few questions though.

About partitioning some people I have spoken too said to place windows in say a 20 GB partition and use the rest for Linux. Others say use Linux in a small 20 GB partition and put Windows in the larger one. Which is the better option? Will I be able to acess my data (eg. music or movies) in both of my operating systems? Do I need a "data" partition to allow both OS to acess that?

I'm doing a dual boot because I do want to play some light games on the laptop when I'm out around campus (CS:S TF2 etc) these are steam games and take up a lot of space will my partitions need to reflect this?

What do I really need to know about Linux to get started? Is there a steep learning curve? I've been attracted to Kubuntu but I dont know these difference between GNOME and KDE. What Is the difference? Should I look into using Ubuntu instead? Maybe another Distro? I'm a bit overwhealmed at the choices.

Thanks for your time if I think of any other questions I'll post them here. (My laptop has not arrived yet which is why I'm asking these questions I cannot actually try anythign yet)

Re: Some Linux Questions

On the "which is better" question, the best answer is "try them both" -- make a Ubuntu Live CD and a Kubuntu Live CD, and exercise them on your laptop. The "best" one is the one you like the best.