This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is 5.04 to 5.10 worth the effort?

Presently I am running Kubuntu 5.04, with Firefox and Thunderbird for the internet. Is there enough change to make it worthwhile to upgrade to 5.10.

This may seem a strange question to ask, but on this particular list the users have already done it and I wondering what they think about the upgrade. Personally I like to upgrade as they become available but I am getting tired of losing everything from the previous version. Bookmarks, email list and everything else I have on my home directory. If there is a way of avoiding such loss I would really like to hear about it.

As you may have gathered, I am a bit of newbie.

Your thoughts and help would be appreciated.

Re: Is 5.04 to 5.10 worth the effort?

If your 5.04 is working fine, there's nothing special about 5.10 that's worth the trouble. You may, however, want to upgrade for 6.04, though, in six months.
    Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

Originally posted by aysiu
      If your 5.04 is working fine, there's nothing special about 5.10 that's worth the trouble. You may, however, want to upgrade for 6.04, though, in six months.
      Thank you, I guess I will wait. 5.04 is working fine for me.

Comment

I don't think you'ld loose all your bookmarks and home folders by just upgrading. I'm not sure though since I always do a clean install, but if you change in: /etc/apt/sources.list (edit as root ) the name hoary to breezy (all of theme), and save it, and after that in a console you type: sudo apt-get dist-upgrade, I think you might not loose everything. But as said before I'm not 100% sure, so don't shoot me, oh well, and there's this one thing: upgrades and (k)ubuntu are always a pain in the .... for some reason (lots of things crashed in hoary when I just did an upgrade (not a dist-upgrade) I hope these things won't happen in Breezy.

Comment