X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 20.04 - Telemetry data / Local Search

Hi Folks,
    I'm new to Kubuntu and Linux at all. Coming from Windows10 because I did not like how this OS was spying on me.
    I managed to install Kubuntu and all my apps from Kubuntu's official packet source.
    Today I found a YouTube video and some more articles, regarding Ubuntu's spying behaviour regarding the collection and transmission of local search plus telemetry data.

Since Kubuntu forks from Ubuntu, I'm wondering, if Kubuntu does the same?
    If so, how can I stop this?

Thank you for all info
    Last edited by Snowhog; Jun 16, 2020, 09:51 AM.

You can start here: The application launcher is the KDE "gear" icon, usually in the bottom left corner.

Application Launcher->System Settings->Personalization->Applications->Diagnostics

Uncheck the box labeled "Send error reports to Canonical"

Your browser is also probably sending reports out. That depends on which browser you use. I Don't recommend using anything from Google. Firefox can also have been configured "out of the box" to send information back to Mozilla. I no longer use the generic Firefox browser, instead I use a fork of Firefox called Pale Moon.

Do a websearch for more information. Obviously, I don't recommend using Google as your search engine because it tracks your search requests and adds you to their database. I recommend using DuckDuckGo.com as your default search engine because they pay more respect to your privacy than most other search engines.

There are probably other configuration options which you may want to disable. I recall finding then and disabling them, but I don't remember where they are accessed. Somebody else on this forum can assist you on this.
    Kubuntu 23.11 64bit under Kernel 6.9.1, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram. All Bow To The Great Google... cough, hack, gasp.

Comment