Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] update/upgrade problem - ppp package ?

I'm no expert. Just someone who uses, likes and values Kubuntu - no engineering skills or understanding (don't even know if this is in the right place - if not, sorry my bad)...

Anyway, system shows that there's an update/upgrade. Whether I select the taskbar icon and try to update that way (that just hangs with an open updating window and seems to do nothing - other than telling me I can't close it as it still has stuff to do).

If I try via the menu and open the Muon Package manager (and however I manage to get the package that's upgradeable to show up in the listing), I can tell it to do the update and it either hangs or does nothing.

The package is ppp (2.4.7-2+2ubuntu1.1) which shows as upgradable but then shows "no change" in the second column on the Muon window - I can meddle with showing it via status, I can meddle with it by getting it to list and a selected upgrade etc, then it doesn't matter what I do, it just won't upgrade the package - it just reverts the package listing as upgradeable and no change.

I "think" I may have got the system upgraded to 18.10 but I don't know as I did change the software sources to "normal" updates from LTS updates and I did install this as 18.04LTS

Can anyone suggest where I go from here please as I'm at a complete loss ?
    What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away! Tom Waits.

In such cases, using the terminal maybe more helpful.

Open konsole and run sudo apt update and follow that with sudo apt full-upgrade. Post the entire output here for people to read.
    Kubuntu 20.04

Comment

And to determine which Kubuntu release you are on, again in konsole enter
      Code:
      inxi -S
      EDIT: You may not have inxi, a very handy utility, so install it
      Code:
      sudo apt install inxi
      The next brick house on the left