This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backup Software....

'Just wondering what some recommendations would be for a good backup program,and not necessarily bare metal imaging software.
    I'm familiar with several, but would like to know what others use and why.
    I'd really like to install a backup that could do incremental backups.
    I've used Mondo , and a couple of other programs in the past. I'm looking at Redo Backup, and also Bacula, although that might be more than I need.
    Any comments or suggestions and experience with any backup software appreciated.
    Thank you.
    Murphy's Laws are always in play, and visit us at the most inopportune times.

'Also aware of 'dd'. Thanks.

Comment

I've been using BackInTime for a couple of years and am completely happy! It's very configurable, and backs up in a non-propriety format so if the worst comes to the very worst you don't need the original back-up software to do a restore.

Each day's back-up looks like a complete copy, but through clever use of sym-links only takes up the space of new/changed items. After each back-up the system adjusts things to retain copies according to your defined regime. For example, I have daily back-ups retained for a 2 week period. Beyond that, it reduces to weekly backups for a 2 month period, and then monthly backups for a 2 year period, and then yearly backups for a 10 year period. The system achieves this by doing a "smart" remove within the back-up repository after each new back-up has been done. Back-up scheduling is very flexible, and the whole thing works happily in the background and is not disturbed by you doing work at the same time that it is copying stuff.