X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plasma Desktop Concept

I all
    I am not new to Kubuntu (Linux) but I am no expert ether (by far).
    I have an idea for a desktop environment that would work on desktop's, Laptop's and tablets.
    The name of the desktop would be PFD (Picture Frame Desktop).
    The idea is to have the desktop only show a slide show of pictures (Like a Picture Frame) after login.
    With only a small tab at the bottom in the center to bring up a Rosa Launcher style launcher with some tweaks.
    The launcher could have the clock, network, sound and extra at the bottom like a task bar has and a Search box at the top for searching programs, files and web.
    Like Rosa Launcher have 3 buttons a the for Welcome, Applications and Time Frame.
    Welcome: screen can be broke up into different category’s like Favorites, Recently opened and Web Favorites.
    Applications: screen can be broke up into different category’s like Graphics, Internet, Multimedia, Office, System and Settings, Utilities and help.
    Time Frame: have it work just as Rosa Launcher.
    If the person wants a clock on the desktop then they can add a widget for the clock.
    Wonce a program is selected a task bar can pop up at the bottom to show what programs are running.
    All launcher icons should have a balloon with a brief description of what the program does.
    When the Launcher is activated have it go right to the Welcome screen and have ReKonq, FireFox installer and Google Chrome installer in the favorites already .

This style desktop would be clean and user friendly.
    I am not a programmer so to try this on my own would be near impossible.
    I have been trying to get away from Windows for years but some programs I like ether do not run in wine or are choppy.
    Gaming is a big one now that steam has a native linux client and Netfix is working better things are looking up.
    Please give me the pros and cons of this concept.