This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to get a new open gl screensaver in to the desktop gui

First off I'm open to suggestions for a better thread title.

I've tried several times to get a new screensaver to show up so I can select it in the desktop settings gui. I've searched repeatedly, but apparently not well, because while I found a bunch of questions about it, I never found how to do it. Only 1 response and it was outdated.

I'm using Gutsy upgraded from Feisty which was fresh installed on a spanking new hard drive. I specified open gl screensavers because that's what I was using. I don't know if this works for anything else or not.

You wont find any command line code from me. I'm not very good with it, so I did this whole thing via gui.

First step is to get your screensaver. This part is outside of the scope of this instruction, but there are plenty of instructions for compiling programs. I wanted to use Hufo's Tunnel, which came with ubuntu, but not kubuntu. D/l and, if needed, compile it. I compiled mine months ago, and could run it by clicking it or from the command line. Copy this executable into root/usr/bin, but change the extension from .exe to .kss

Next, open /usr/share/applnk/System/ScreenSavers/. Pick a known good screensaver .desktop file and edit as root. Find the line with the screensaver name and change it.

[Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Exec=keuphoria.kss
    Icon=kscreensaver
    Type=Application
    Actions=Setup;InWindow;Root;
    X-KDE-Category=OpenGL Screen Savers
    X-KDE-Type=OpenGL
    Name=Euphoria (GL)
    Name[bg]=Еуфория
    Name[ca]=Eufòria (GL)
    Delete all the languages you dont use. Change the exec to yourscreensaver.kss and the name to what you want to show in the desktop conf gui. Do this for each entry.

[Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Exec=hufo_tunnel.kss
    Icon=kscreensaver
    Type=Application
    Actions=Setup;InWindow;Root;
    X-KDE-Category=OpenGL Screen Savers