X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Partitioning problems for unallocated partition

Hi

I am having problems with partitioning my hard drive. It is a 75GB drive, which has a 2GB partition with pre-installed Windows files, a 15GB partition with Windows XP, (Shrunk from 35GB), a linux-swap partition and then 15GB for Kubuntu, and then a 40GB unallocated partition. I am not able to access this last 40GB unallocated section from either Windows or Linux. I cannot format it or change it in any way. I have tried using Partition Magic, the Kubuntu Installer and Windows disk management to change it but with no success, none of them will let me alter it. Fdisk does not pick it up this partition at all. The aim is to have this partition as a FAT32 partition for both Windows and Linux file storage. I am new to Linux, so may have missed something. Think the problem started when I installed Kubuntu and it wouldn't let me format or alter that last partition during installations so it was left as unallocated.

Have looked through the other help files, around on the net and in forums but nothings has helped yet.
    Please help!
    Kind regards

Re: Partitioning problems for unallocated partition

If I have counted properly, on your hard disk at present four partitions are allready existing, all of them primary ones, as I assume - which would mean that you would have reached the limit of what is possible ... provided your Kubuntu system is operating, you may hack fdisk -l into a console and post the resulting output here to verify (or falsify) my assumption.

Birdy

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply.
      Yes, I have 4 primary partitions.
      I just tried using GParted-Live CD and it told me that I have reached my limit. Is there any way around this or do you have any suggestions?
      Might try incorporate the 40GB into my windows partitions because Linux has no problems reading from it?

Comment

wallis2812:
        Yes, I have 4 primary partitions.