This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

unable to manage wireless connection with Kubuntu 14

hello everyone, i'm completely new to Linux and decided to give it a try after reading about Windows 10 privacy issues. i chose to download Kubuntu to a usb drive using rufus 2.2 to format and create a bootable drive. i used unetbootin to load the os onto the drive and booted up using the plop boot manager. kubuntu is recognizing my wireless connections but when i try to connect, i am prompted to enter a password which i assume is my security key. this doesn't work. i am able to connect to my router using an ethernet cable without a problem. so i am kind of lost as what to do. thanks

Firstly, welcome to Kubuntu irockde!

In answer to your query, all I can think of is the basics (which I guess you've tried already):

1. Are you certain the wireless network is the correct one (yours)?

2. If so, are you sure the password is correct? (caps lock not on, etc)

3. Maybe try temporarily disabling security on your wireless network and try to connect then.

Not sure what to suggest other than that. Are you getting any error messages, etc?
    Desktop PC: Intel Core-i5-4670 3.40Ghz, 16Gb Crucial ram, Asus H97-Plus MB, 128Gb Crucial SSD + 2Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 HDD running Kubuntu 18.04 LTS and Kubuntu 14.04 LTS (on SSD).
    Laptop: HP EliteBook 8460p Core-i5-2540M, 4Gb ram, Transcend 120Gb SSD, currently running Deepin 15.8 and Manjaro KDE 18.

Comment