Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I insert an avatar picture from my computer ?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I insert an avatar picture from my computer ?

Hi, forum support team,
    I'm a newbie here and I would like to insert an avatar picture from my computer. I have searched here but I didn't find it out how to. Could help me out because I didn't reach the option at my contol panel. Best Regards.

8)

Re: How do I insert an avatar picture from my computer ?

1. Find a really ancient photo of a scruffy-looking character ....

Oh, perhaps that wasn't the question!

OK, then. Once you log in to the forum, in the upper right of the menu row is an item entitled "Profile" -- it is third from the right end, between "Calendar" and "Search". Open Profile, and on the left of the panel you see "Profile Info" and "Modify Profile". So, under "Modify Profile" you click "Forum Profile Information", and on that panel if you want to upload your avatar you click the "I will upload my own picture" box, and then you browse to the .gif or .png file on your computer, and do "OK" or whatever, and that's basically the procedure.

Comment

*BUMP de BUMP* (I am demonstrating that I know the way to the search button)

I just tried to update my avatar and it looks like nah, it just won't change, even if the upload progresses in a kind of normal fashion.

Are there restrictions on picture size (X by Y pixels), filesize, or file format? I just can't figure out why this fails.

Comment

Gold Star for searching!

I know there is a size ceiling, but I don't remember what it is. My avatar is a 3.5k jpeg image, if that helps.

Comment

I copied a couple of avatars from the forum today into GIMP and they seem to come across as 80x80 pixels - which is fine, I have my new avatar adapted to that standard.