This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Privacy/freedom alternatives to common sites/services/apps

I've been using google and facebook for a LONG time now, however the situation with facebook "tailoring" news feeds and google generally data mining everything I do has led me to reconsider.

What I'm looking for is alternatives to major sites/services like facebook and gmail that respect privacy and freedom. I'm not even sure I want to use firefox to be honest. Their storing every page I visit and "recommending" things based on this feels invasive.

So maybe this thread can grow into something useful for others in the same situation. I'm hoping the KFN community has some useful suggestions, please.
    https://madmage999.blogspot.com/

I found this site which has a lot of good info, switched email already.

Comment

I've been using Tutanota for encrypted email for a few years now and find it quite satisfactory. The only problem is getting others to accept it.
      Last edited by SpecialEd; Sep 28, 2018, 02:44 PM.
      If you think Education is expensive, try ignorance.

The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has limits.

Comment

Originally posted by SpecialEd View Post
        I've been using Tutanota for encrypted email for a few years now and find it quite satisfactory. The only problem is getting others to except it.
        Not sure what you mean by except it. It doesn't use standard email system?

Comment

In my government-related job, signed and encrypted email in the norm. in the outside world getting someone to accept the idea of an electronically signed/encrypted email with the whole shared key thing is just a pain and probably viewed as paranoia. Understandably so.