• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MOVED from Shout Box: Written By hkachkachi

Hello,

It's me again...

I've read at http://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/sou...er/000533.html
    about whether or not to install the build-essential on the desktop as a default.

I find this debate really outrageous...

When I switched from (many) other distros to ubuntu I had the hope that I'd be able to solve the only "secondary" problems (wlan connection, video DVD, etc) I had, and OF COURSE to be able to resume my primary work under linux. Now, if some guys think that linux should be some OS for playing music and watching DVD's, they are really mistaken, as there is the (painless) Windows for that!!!

I've been using (yes, I'm saying using) Linux for many years for my work, and I don't want to spend my time gleaning packages bit by bit on the internet. It's nice to make linux more friendly and Windows like, but the linux core should stay faithful to its mission in its own terrain, cause otherwise there is no reason to build a new distribution, and pretend that it's open-minded and call it "linux for human beings".

This situation reminds me of an anecdote: As kids we were told the story of the crow who in the beginning of times watched a pigeon walk, and got fascinated by his beautiful way. He decided then to copy the pigeon. After some time trying in vain, he decided to go back to his own. Unfortunately, he had forgotten, and in the end, the only possibility that was left to him was to jump.

Regards,
    Hamid

Re: MOVED from Shout Box: Written By hkachkachi

I haven't read that thread, OS, and this is news to me.  I guess my worthless opinion would be that why install build-essential stuff by default when most people would never use it?  And I like to develop myself...