weird updates with zero bytes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

weird updates with zero bytes

First of all good morning good evening and good night I have been using kubuntu for the last 5 Years it's always been solid 2 weeks ago more or less I decided to install ubuntu 22.04.2 i have /home partition and a / which I formatted everything was working fine until 2 days ago I started receiving some weird updates with zero bytes with kernel updates and many nvidia updates which changed my grub menu. now for me to boot into kubuntu I have to choose kernel versions 5.19.0.50-generic because none of the other ones work since they have zero bytes I don't know if it's a kubuntu problem or a Ubuntu problem I did a Google search before posting here and I saw a Reddit post with people with the same problem it looks like a bug is there a way to fix it on my end or is it something that has to be done on kubuntu or Ubuntu end
    ​​​​
    Last edited by Snowhog; Aug 02, 2023, 04:41 PM. Reason: Removed tiny font embedded formatting

Why the microscopic font size??

Originally posted by leotux View Post
    I saw a Reddit post with people with the same problem
    Can you link to the other reports on this you saw in Reddit?

Where are you seeing 'zero bytes', exactly? We really need examples, or as much information as you have.
    5.19.0.50 is the latest official kernel in 22.04.

I am going to guess you may have been bitten by an Ubuntu bug that installed some non-standard kernels , ones that have 'oem' and 'nvidia' in the names. There are numerous instance here of this. Do any look similar to what you see?

Comment

They are more frequently pushing needless updates that only brake the system...

Comment

Here are screen shots from my nextcloud vps

https://drive.leojung.cloudns.ph/ind...LGAopPei9TWq5g
        https://drive.leojung.cloudns.ph/ind...REcCKJ7n5g4psi
        https://drive.leojung.cloudns.ph/ind...cWEgGNWRssyJoo

Comment