This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Windows 10 not showing up in grub

First off I am completely new to linux but above averge with windows. Im presently learning how to use terminal commands and linux in general.
    I installed kubuntu on a seperate hdd from my ssd windows (mbr) boot drive. Both work if i boot from the uefi and select their respective drives as the boot priority. If i boot kubuntu i see the grub menu but windows 10 does not show up there.
    I've tried to follow windows 10 cmd instructions to change the boot manger but i get access denied or missing file messages.

In kubuntu ive tried terminal commands to reinstall grub and that seems to work but doesnt solve the problem.

To be clear im using the asrock mobo uefi the windows bios is legacy. And i have a seperate partition for the kubuntu efi. Not sure if that makes a difference.

Originally posted by Nimic View Post
    To be clear im using the asrock mobo uefi the windows bios is legacy. And i have a seperate partition for the kubuntu efi. Not sure if that makes a difference.
    It certainly does. If the computer is in EFI, it cannot run BIOS programmes, like the Windows bootloader; the BIOS is not there; and vice versa.

You could reinstall Kubuntu as BIOS/MBR, or even conceivably BIOS/GPT, then grub will be able to chain to the Windows bootloader. Or, reinstall Windows as using EFI; supposedly one could convert Windows in place to EFI, but I've no idea if that's a good idea.

If you want to do a BIOS install of Kubuntu, you have to boot the install media in BIOS mode. How to achieve that depends on the motherboard.
    Regards, John Little

Comment

Actually windows is on a GPT drive not mbr.
      How can I confirm kubuntu is running in efi mode?
      Last edited by Nimic; Jul 31, 2020, 07:06 AM.

Comment