This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dolphin has no Open as administrator

I use 20.04. How can I open a folder as administrator ? I would like to do it through a file manager, if possible. Thanks.

I have an icon link to application on my desktop which uses this command:

pkexec env DISPLAY=$DISPLAY XAUTHORITY=$XAUTHORITY KDE_SESSION_VERSION=5 KDE_FULL_SESSION=true dolphin /
    DO NOTE the closing slash which has a space between it and the dolphin app name.

This is a 'work around' because the devs have chosen to remove the ability to start dolphin as root user.

Hopefully, sometime in the future, in my lifetime maybe, the devs will restore the ability to start dolphin as root user. But that has not happened yet, to my knowledge.
    Kubuntu 23.11 64bit under Kernel 6.8.8, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram. All Bow To The Great Google... cough, hack, gasp.

Comment

Thanks @TWPonKubuntu

I am new to Kubuntu. I do not know how to make an icon link.

Hopefully, sometime in the future, in my lifetime maybe, the devs will restore the ability to start dolphin as root user. But that has not happened yet, to my knowledge.
      Is there any plugin which does that ? Assuming Plasma support plugins. I am a 5 days old in the Plasma experience.

Comment

I don't know of a plugin which will solve this problem.

On your desktop, Right click->Create New->Link to Application

Enter an application name. I use "Dolphin as root", on the General tab.

Enter the pkexec command from my first reply, on the Application tab, in the command field.

If you're not familiar with this process, then this is the chance to learn by experimentation.

You can edit the configuration of your desktop icons by Right Clicking on them and selecting Properties.

Sorry that this is abbreviated. You can find better instructions via a NON-google websearch for "create a desktop icon". Don't trust Google...