X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dolphin - network drive access problem in 20-04

Dear All,

I have recently installed the 20-04 version of Kubuntu.
    I am now unable to access my hard drive down the hall on the network using Dolphin. This worked fine in Kubuntu 18-04.
    This is a deal breaker as I keep all our files on this hard drive so that they are also accessible from my wife's Windows laptop, and do not vanish when I need to install Linux again.

I gather from the technical discussions I have read here, that Dolphin has been changed to reject old networked hard drives.
    The methods that might resolve this are not understandable to me, I am not a programmer.

I have resolved the problem by changing the machine to a dual boot system for 18-04 and 20-04 and using a FAT32 partition to carry the files I want from the networked hard drive to 18-04 to 20-04.
    This is not ideal...

Is there a button in Dolphin which I can press which will allow me to access the networked hard drive in 20-04 like I can in 18-04 ? Have I just missed something obvious (I have looked quite hard) ??

I am prepared to load another file manager - but I am rather used to Dolphin, as I have (eventually) discovered how to make it access Root files, so I can edit some config files for my radio programmes which reside there, for reasons best known to the programmers...

Help, please, Regards, Ed

Could you link to where this is?

I gather from the technical discussions I have read here, that Dolphin has been changed to reject old networked hard drives
    I've never heard the term "old networked hard drives". Network transfer protocols and Dolphin don't base connections on the age of a drive, so that can't be what you meant. I this is a new install of Kubuntu, it's likely you haven't installed or configured the samba client.

Please Read Me

Comment