This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu loses 16:10 screen format

I'll start by pointing out that this was a problem in the last version of Kubuntu also. I am currently in Karmic Koala 2.6.31-21.

I have a Samsung Synmaster T240, 16:10 screen format, on an Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 (so sayeth the Nvidia Xserver settings). Every time I boot up, I am obliged to redefine the screen size. Instead of 1600x1024 (It does not offer me 1600x1000), it comes up with 1600x1200 and I have to go into System Settings and reset it and accept the config. Using the Nvidia application gives the same result.

It's not a serious problem, but it is rather annoying. Any ideas?

Also, why does it not offer a true 1600x1000 possiblity? It seems to me that more and more screens have this format. Unless they are of TV format, 16:9.
    'I must have a prodigious quantity of mind; it takes me as much as a week sometimes to make it up.' Mark Twain

Re: Kubuntu loses 16:10 screen format

I could be wrong, but the resolutions you are talking about don't exist.

See: Current standards and scroll down a bit.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Re: Kubuntu loses 16:10 screen format -> Acceptable screen formats?

Originally posted by Snowhog
      I could be wrong, but the resolutions you are talking about don't exist.

See: Current standards and scroll down a bit.
      Uh-oh. I can see this may become messy. Amazon (France) and some other sites say that the optimal resolution for this screen is 1920x1200, which is a ratio of 1.6. Look 2 paragraphs after the list of "standards" you refer to and you'll see a whole lot of different standards, including 2560×1600 WQXGA, which is also 1.6.