Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

(WARNING Linux newbie here) WHY a separate partition for bootloader???

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

(WARNING Linux newbie here) WHY a separate partition for bootloader???

hey everyone I4m new to this forum and to Linux generally speaking

just got myself a netbook & I wanna do some experimenting with Linux. I plan to have multi-boot on my netbook, starting with a dual boot windows XP + Linux (debian or a variant like ubuntu, I hesitate but w/e that ain't important atm)

the Linux part of my netbook will be for educational purposes only (I wanna learn Linux. command-line stuff, no fancy graphics). for surfing & all that when I'm on the go, I'll use the Windows part

I'v already decided what partitions to have (the linux ones like / /boot /home /usr swap & all that will be all in the extended partition, to keep it organized 8) windows xp will have its own primary partition. another primary partition will be for either backup, or for extra Linux distros, and the remaining primary partition, well that's kinda the subject of my topic so for the moment I dunno )

but I'm kinda new to these concepts like MBR, bootloader, boot sector & all that & it's all mucho confusing

so I been doing some searching & one of the things that often turns up when it comes to multi-boot is having a "dedicated partition for the bootloader" for "chainloading" & all that

so...if I understood correctly (duh) a separate partition for bootloader like Lilo and Grub means that the menu (with all the OSes installed) will be on that partition, but not their kernels right ?
    also the bootloader on that partition is supposed to be OS-independent which is good 'cause that means that whenever I add a new OS all I have to do is edit a config file in that partition & simply add a line for that new OS, right?