This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Cantata and Plasma Media Player widget

Just recently Cantata and the Plasma Media Player widget have become disconnected on my system. Previously when I played music in Cantata the Media Player widget would load in the system tray and display track information, and the media keys on my keyboard worked seamlessly with Cantata (play/pause/next/previous). This no longer happens.

I re-installed Cantata which fixed the problem but that proved to be a false dawn as it came back after the next reboot and subsequent re-installs do not even fix the problem temporarily.

Does anyone have any ideas what I might try in order to get the two working together again?

Thanks

Nick
    Kubuntu 20.04(AMD64)/KDE 5

Hi
    this is an interesting question.

I have a lot of experience with PMC because i use it in my Kparadigmshift ...roll your own version of KDE Neon dev stable .. for my large screen t.v.

I assume that, as you are using PMC that you are somewhat aware of it's history and that it has gone in fits and starts for some odd reason and that is, because, I personally think, that the whole plasma active thing for tablets was never completely developed because, in part, they use the ARM chipset. That MAY be the reason, I do not know.

You will notice in this link that PMC isn't even mentioned:

https://userbase.kde.org/Applications/Multimedia

but as to your situation.

I have a LOT of media players on my rig but, i do not have Cantata, although I DO KNOW A LOT about Cantata because I have been an active proponent of "down to the bone" players ( music servers ) such as the old XMMS, not XMMS2, and also MPD when I was running #!.

But, anyway, I fiddled with Cantata a lot and can UNDERSTAND why you like it!

But, again, back to your situation.

Here is a relevant item from the PMC site, which has not been updated since 2014 I think:

Media Player