This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Python3-pip install problem

Let me start by saying I have limited experience with Linux and this very well may be an easy to answer question.

My dilemma is I am attempting to install hangups through the terminal which requires I install python3-pip first sudo apt-get install python3-pip upon entering this command I receive this message in error The following packages have unmet dependencies: python3-pip : Depends: python-pip-whl (= 8.1.2-2ubuntu0.1) but 8.1.2-3 is to be installed E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Prior it was Recommending to install setuptools, dev, and whl, as well within that same error message, but I was able to remedy that by searching through multiple threads, which piggybacking off of that point I have done a solid two to three hours of research on this topic scouring threads on different websites, but nothing seems to be working. If anyone has any suggestions please chime in.

*I am running the most recent version of Kubuntu btw if that accounts for anything.

Thanks in advance.

Did some research **solved

Comment

And you aren't going to share 'how'?
      Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
      "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

My apologies

found it over here on stack exchange

First I did a sudo apt-get update
        then sudo apt-get clean
        sudo apt-get autoclean

then followed this gentlemans advice
        334 down vote
        Ubuntu 12.10+ and Fedora 13+ have a package called python3-pip which will install pip-3.2 (or pip-3.3, pip-3.4 or pip3 for newer versions) without needing this jumping through hoops.

I came across this and fixed this without needing the likes of wget or virtualenvs (assuming Ubuntu 12.04):
        1. Install package python3-setuptools: run sudo aptitude install python3-setuptools, this will give you the command easy_install3.