This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

my experiences with Saucy so far

As you can probably tell from my signature (I thought it would be a good idea to have my info in a signature rather than having to copy and paste it every time I posted!) I'm running Kubuntu 13.04 as a VM on a Mac.
    A few days ago, I decided to try out the new version, 13.10. Rather than upgrading my existing Raring VM, I downloaded the Saucy ISO and made a new VM, for comparison/in case anything went terribly wrong. I'm new to Linux, so I'm probably not much use as a tester, but I wanted to see if I liked the new OS so I know what to install when I finally get a new laptop. And if I CAN pick up any bugs along the way, great!

I'm actually very impressed with how WELL Saucy runs, considering it's only in Alpha 2. So far (fingers crossed) I haven't come across anything disastrous. The point of this post is to discuss the problems I HAVE encountered and try to find out if they actually ARE bugs, or whether it's me doing something wrong/missing a plugin/being daft. Here goes.

unreproducible bugs:
    * In folder view, when I first changed the size of icons on the desktop, after a restart the icons reverted to their default size. I changed it again and the problem has never ocurred again since.
    * Shortly after I installed Saucy, software update popped up saying updates were available. I installed them and after restarting the font size was GIGANTIC. Another restart fixed it.

other bugs:
    1. install screen still says 'thankyou for choosing Kubuntu 13.04' - shouldn't that be 13.10?! hmm...

2. I get a 'KDE power management system' error on startup; it might have something to do with the VM though (see screenshot)

3. when reducing the height of a panel, task bar item text doesn't shrink so text gets cut off.