This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hard drive issues

I am fairly new to linux, and ran in a few problems since installation on my laptop
    most of them are just solved by doing some research, but one of them really bothers me: my harddrive reaches temperatures between 45~50 degrees celsius, on idle.
    it also feels like the disk is spinning at full speed, which shouldn't be the case.
    technical details:
    hard drive is a st750LX003,
    laptop is a samsung rc730-s02nl(if relevant), dual-boot Kubuntu and win8

this is the top5 results in Iotop:
    338 be/3 root 0.00 B 260.00 K 0.00 % 0.58 % [jbd2/sdb4-8]
    6699 be/4 frank 0.00 B 24.00 K 0.00 % 0.02 % chromium-browser
    8742 be/4 frank 64.00 K 52.00 K 0.00 % 0.02 % konsole
    6689 be/4 frank 0.00 B 92.00 K 0.00 % 0.01 % chromium-browser
    6691 be/4 frank 0.00 B 44.00 K 0.00 % 0.00 % chromium-browser
    ah, maybe this is a nice addition:

this is the disk activity from 30 minutes.. disk temp raised from 28 to 55 degrees celsius within that timespan..

my teacher, who knows Linux/Ubuntu better then I do, thinks this is a driver issue.. but how can I solve it, if there are no linux drivers available?
    edit after a lot of thinking and researching:
    could it be an issue with Ext4? one of my teachers(ubuntu-user), told me it could be the way ext4 works, and going back to ext3 could solve my issue..
    it doesn't happen in windows 8(NTFS), at all.. no changes, no high temperatures.. just 30 degrees celsius..

I am not sure what to post more, so let me know if more information is needed.
    kind regards,
    Frank

While I agree that 50c is too hot for normal idle temp, it's not out of range. I'd be a bit concerned too though. My older drives run at 39c.