This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Goodbye Natty (SOLVED)

I have been using Kubuntu for several years now, and never had too many problems, I upgraded for 10.04 to 11.04, and it is the worst O/S I have ever had, I can compare it with Windows Vista, too many problems and no support for the new motherboards, i.e. network, video, flash, to name a few. So this morning I went back to 10.04. I hope in the future that they do not release any new O/S unless they can fix all the things wrong with Natty. I will keep using Kubuntu as I love it, but I do like it to work. I took Natty off of both my laptop and desktop. I guess I will have to wait until the new LTS comes out, maybe they will have fixed all the problems with Natty.

I went into the BIOS and disabled the LAN port and now the wireless works, still there is a problem with the LAN port conflicting with the wireless.

Re: Goodbye Natty

All those things work just fine on all my old and new computers.

I'm using 11.04 and 10.04 on many computers. While I'd say installing 10.04 has often been easier, I only use it on older computers that I don't want or need the latest stuff on like my server and media devices so I'm not even installing a desktop in some cases.

KDE 4.6 using 2.6.38 kernel is way faster and more stable than 10.04 was on this particular computer. Fortunately, you can still use 10.04.

However, the problem I see is this: There is no "They" to fix things for you. No one is getting money from you so you can use this OS so no one owes you any support.

Linux is a community effort. The way things get fixed is through community support. That means reporting bugs, getting and giving advice on how to get things working, posting problems and successes to forums, etc.

If a particular piece of hardware you bought isn't working - complain to the manufacturer because they don't support linux. It's their fault, not Kubuntu developers - who are for the most part unpaid by anyone.