This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am very impressed

I have been using Linux since 1995, mostly Slackware. I have tried other distributions but always went back. I have been running Ubuntu in Virtual Box on my Windows machine and liked it but I have always used the KDE desktop so decided to put a new install of Kubuntu on my Slackware machine. I copied a few files off the machine to a thumb drive, downloaded the iso image file, burned a CD and rebooted. The installation was very direct and painless. I resized the partitions, created a swap and made a ext4 file system. Then I went and made a pot of coffee while Kubuntu was installed.

I am very impressed with the installation program apt-get. I used it to install Postfix added my relay info in the config files and my email was working. Then I used it to install Dovecot-imapd. I had a lot of problems getting my IMAP subdirectories to show up. Thunderbird won't even load on the Linux machine and from the Windows 7 machine it only sees some of the subfolders. So I tried Kmail. After learning how to get rid of the 'most messages in its own folder' display I liked it. I still had some issues with subfolders but by turning debug on in Dovecot and reading the logs I finally got namespaces defined properly. Then I used apt-get to install Spamassassin and wow, I didn't even have to look at the config files it works fine. And Kmail moves all the spam to the trash automatically. I just have to decide on the questionable ones. I have found a couple of false positives but once Spamassassin is trained I will edit maildrop so spam goes to /dev/null and I don't have to look at it.